Albion Park

 Albion Park Greyhound Track

Albion Park is the new track in Brisbane that has replaced the old Gabba Track. The track is 437 meters long with a loam surface. Home of the Brisbane Greyhound Racing Club, Albion park hosts a number of big race days per year including the Brisbane Cup and the Winter Carnival cup, both of which are Group One races. The old Gabba track was made of grass, which meant that it was not all weather friendly. The new loam track is more durable, resulting in fewer cancelled or abandoned races.

Frequent Races

Aside from the big races that are held at Albion park, there are races every week as well. The track is a busy one, with onsite bookies as well as other methods of placing bets. The races during the week are scheduled depending on length, with longer races being held later in the week. Dogs from all over the country come to try their skill at Albion Park in the smaller races as well as of course the larger ones.

Group One Races

Albion Park hosts three Group one races annually. The two main ones are the Brisbane Cup and the Winter Carnival.

The Brisbane Cup is the main racing event in Queensland, attracting dogs from all over the country. The race is run over 520 meters at Albion Park and carries a purse of $75 000. Betting on the event is well represented with a number of options available. Bookies are onsite at the track, which encourages punters and their families to make it a day out to watch the races. There is always more than one race run on the day, with many of them being back to back to keep the crowd entertained. Online betting for the Brisbane Cup is offered by a number of sites nationally, and sometimes attracts international attention.

The Winter Carnival Cup is also run over 520 meters at Albion Park. The main race comes at the end of a day full of racing and also has a purse of $75 000. Dogs from all over the country race at the Winter Cup, ranging from experienced dogs in their prime to maiden untried chasers. Betting on the race is popular all over Australia and some outlying countries too. Online betting sites offer fixed odds, which allow punters to shop around a bit to find the odds on the dogs that suit them the best.

Racing Tips

As with Thoroughbred racing, greyhound racing involves animals whose history and breeding can be checked online. It is always wise to do some research on the dogs which are running in the races before you bet on them. Pedigree isn’t everything, but well-bred dogs do tend to do well. Favourites at the bookies will be a dog that has won a number of races previously. Favourites have a larger chance of winning, but betting on them will yield a smaller return. Placing a well-educated bet on an outsider could end up being much more lucrative than just following the crowd.

A number of online sites will also offer incentives to join them. Be sure to again shop around to find the best bonuses and promotions for you.


Introduction to Online AFL Betting in New Zealand

New Zealanders not only love watching the most prestigious Australian rules football competition, they also love betting on it, and they don’t have to go very far to do it. The islands’ top online bookmakers always make sure to include AFL markets so punters don’t miss any of the action.

Punters can bet on a pre-season competition, the regular season, the finals series, and the Grand Final. The season runs from March to September.

Outright match and season bets can be placed, as can exotic or prop bets. Punters in New Zealand can also place futures and live bets.

AFL Season Structure

The AFL’s pre-season competition is known as the NAB Challenge, and its current form was introduced in 2014. During the Challenge, each of the league’s 18 teams play three games each.

The pre-season starts in late February, and ends in early March. It gives the teams a chance to start preparing for the big competition and to trial any changes that have been made to the rules.

The premiership season, which runs from late March to early September, sees 23 rounds of home and away Aussie rules football games played.

Apart from the Grand Final, the AFL premiership season in which each team plays 22 games, attracts the most punters from New Zealand. It features top quality football as well as an incredible number of match bets.

When the home and away season comes to an end, the minor premiers are awarded the McClelland Trophy, which provides punters with yet another opportunity to place their bets at online bookmakers.

Themed rounds and special matches that can make for interesting betting opportunities for New Zealanders. Among them are Anzac Day, the Rivalry Round, the Heritage Round, the Women’s Round, the Queen’s Birthday game, and Dreamtime at the ‘G.

The whole point of the AFL premiership series is to determine the eight teams that will play in the finals series that ends with the Grand Final. The series runs for the four weeks of September, with the Grand Final being played on the last Saturday of that month.

Betting at New Zealand’s online bookmakers reaches fever pitch during the finals series, as the eight teams are reduced to the two that will play for the title of premiers and the EL Wilson Shield.

Popular Types of AFL Bets

The AFL betting options at New Zealand’s online bookmakers are many, and cover both individual matches, the season, and the Grand Final. Bracket and multiple batch bets can also be placed during the season.

The most popular bets placed are those on the winners of particular games. There are also many different exotic bets placed by New Zealand’s punters, some of which are betting on AFL records to be broken, the number of points specific players will score, and the correct scores of games.

Current AFL Teams

The AFL’s current clubs are drawn from five of Australia’s six states. The only one to not be represented in the league is Tasmania. A knowledge of each club’s record can be of benefit to punters in New Zealand who want to place exotic bets online.

Those clubs currently in the league are Adelaide Crows, Brisbane Lions, Carlton Blues, Collingwood Magpies, Essendon Bombers, Fremantle Dockers, Geelong Cats, Greater Western Sydney Giants, Hawthorn Hawks, Melbourne Demons, North Melbourne Kangaroos, Port Adelaide Power, Richmond Tigers, St Kilda Saints, Sydney Swans, West Coast Eagles, and Western Bulldogs.